Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Friday, May 22, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

The Willard Companies - Click for Website
Brown to join baseball shrine
Click to Enlarge
Harold Brown

Friday, October 29, 2010

SALEM -- Former Franklin County prep baseball standout Harold Brown is one of five area patrons who have been selected for induction into the Salem-Roanoke Baseball Hall of Fame.

His induction will take place at the 20th annual Hot Stove banquet, Sunday, February 13, 2011 at the Salem Civic Center.

Brown, who passed away in April 2009 at age 51, will be honored posthumously.

Joining Brown in this year's induction class are Anthony Amos, Jerome (Budgy) Clark, Sam Lazzaro, and Art Price.

Brown, a native of Franklin County, was a standout pitcher who went on to coach Dixie Youth baseball.

Brown was named Franklin County's Most Valuable Player in 1977 -- the year in which the Eagles won their first of two Northwest Region baseball championships and played for the Group AAA title, losing 9-2 to Kempsville at home.

Brown pitched for Chipola College in Florida, where he had a 10-0 record in 1978, and for two years at Southern Illinois University.

Brown was drafted by the Oakland A's and Milwaukee Brewers but decided to return to the county to be part of the family business -- Forty West Building Supply in Rocky Mount.

Brown shares FCHS's single-season record for wins (11 in 1977) and owns the mark for single-season innings pitched (101.2). He ranks fourth in single-season strikeouts with 104, set in 1977.

"Amos is a William Byrd graduate who has been active in baseball all his life as a player, coach, and administrator.

Amos coached American Legion baseball off and on since the 1970s and currently guides Vinton Post 80 in District 9.

In 1998, Amos founded and coached the first AAU team in Vinton and the first 10-and-under team in the Roanoke Valley.

Amos has played a big role in bringing AAU tournaments to the valley and has coached AAU, middle school, and NABF teams.

"Clark was a standout baseball player at Salem High School and Virginia Tech.

After an outstanding college career, Clark went into the turfmanagement business and held numerous positions in that field, including trips to Sweden, Croatia, and Italy to work on fields for the 2009 World Cup and Beijing, China for the 2008 Olympics.

Clark has served as head groundskeeper for the Washington Nationals.

"Lazzaro, an original member of the Hall of Fame Board of Directors, has been involved for baseball for most ofhis life as an administrator, author, and sportscaster.

Lazzaro's book "More Than A Ball Game: An Inside Look at Minor League Baseball" included many anecdotes about his days as General Manager and Vice President of the local Carolina League baseball team.

Lazzaro was named Executive of the Year in both the New York-Penn League and the Carolina League and his clubs broke attendance records in 11 of 14 seasons he was on the job.

Lazzaro is a lawyer in Salem.

"Price has been the Director of Parks and Recreation for the town of Christiansburg since 1987.

A graduate of Radford University, Price has more than 28 years of administrative experience, and has been a big supporter of baseball in the New River Valley area.

Price is responsible for bringing many tournaments to the area and upgrading the baseball facilities.

The Hall of Fame also announced that John Montgomery has been named to receive the annual Wayne LaPierre, Sr. Baseball Community Service Award for

contributions to baseball

Montgomery is the publisher of the

monthly sports publication "Play by Play."

Tickets for the banquet are now available from board members, including

President Charlie Hammersley at (540) 387-3626 and Vice President Gary Walthall at (540)-330-4155 or (540)-427-1977.

The Hall of Fame opened its new facility adjacent to Salem Memorial Baseball Stadium in 2009.

The Hall of Fame can be viewed on request, or during Carolina League baseball games during the summer.

The Hall of Fame was founded in 1991. It honors players and contributors from the counties of Roanoke, Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, and Montgomery and the independent cities located within the boundries of those counties.




Below is a list of members

with ties to Franklin County, Ferrum College or both and their year of induction.


Ron Hodges 1993

Boyd (Hawbill) Hall 1994

John Muse 1995

Alvin Hall 1997

Abe Naff 1999

Kelvin Bowles 2002

Billy Wagner 2003

Tom Berry 2004

Buck Fielder 2004

Eric Owens 2006

Sam Webb 2006

Charlie Hammersley 2007

Elbert Powell 2007

Garland Berry 2008

Darren Hodges 2008

Dee Dalton 2009

Gary Gilmore 2010

Harold Brown 2011

Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
Penny Hodges - Click for Website
Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website