Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Tragedy is the tie that binds

Tragedy is the tie that binds

  • Updated
  • 0

FERRUM—Albeit to a lesser degree than the historic December date that the phrase depicts, Saturday’s date 50 years ago will live in infamy.

November 14, 1970 has bound two colleges, one large and one small, and two football programs, one that competes in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and one that play NCAA Division III, from that day forward.

On that date, a plane carrying Marshall (W.Va.) University’s football team, staff and supporters, crashed upon its return to Huntington, W.Va. from Greenville, N.C. where Marshall had played a game against East Carolina University that day.

There were no survivors.

Seven of Marshall’s players had transferred from Ferrum College, all of whom were members of the Panthers’ 1968 junior college national championship squad.

Also, Rick Tolley, Marshall’s head coach at the time, was Hank Norton’s first full-time assistant coach. The former Virginia Tech player left Ferrum prior to 1968 to take an assistant coaching position at Wake Forest University before moving on to Marshall.

Tolley and the seven players—Thomas Wayne Brown, Arthur Kirk Shannon, David Dearing Griffith, Jerry Dodson Stainback, Jr., Patrick Jay Norell, Thomas Jonathan Zborill and James Robert Patterson—comprise “The Ferrum 8.” They were inducted as a group into Ferrum’s Alumni-Sports Hall of Fame inaugural class in 1994.

A week of remembrances are on-going at Marshall as the 50th anniversary of the crash approaches on Saturday. The Thundering Herd plays Middle Tennessee State University at home at noon that day.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, Ferrum does not play a game Saturday. If the Panthers return to the gridiron before next fall, they will do so during the college’s spring semester which commences in January.

Ferrum’s 1968 national title team, its second of four junior college championship squads, celebrated its 50th anniversary two years ago when the Panthers hosted their first Homecoming game as members of the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC).

The Panthers lost to league rival Washington and Lee University that day, 38-35, when the Generals kicked a game-winning field goal on the last play of regulation. The game marked the first time that the Panthers and the Generals had met as ODAC and Division III football foes.

The Panthers’ football program has presented the Big Green Award as a memorial to the “Ferrum 8” since 1971. A portrait of Tolley hangs in the Panthers’ football locker room and he and Norton share naming rights to renovated press box at W.B. Adams Stadium.

Banners honoring all four of Ferrum’s title teams (1965, 1968, 1974 and 1977) are displayed at Adams Stadium.

The Panthers were returning home from a game in Maryland when news of the crash broke. Days later, Norton, a native of Huntington, W.Va. and Renso “Rock’’ Perdoni, a defensive star on the 1968 title team who was playing for Georgia Tech at the time, left for Marshall.

The 1968 team routed Phoenix Junior College of Arizona, 41-19, in the Shrine Bowl to win the national championship and to complete a 10-0 campaign.

During the regular season, the Panthers traveled to Miami, Oklahoma and bested Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, which won the 1967 national championship. The victory was one of six road wins, the Panthers achieved that season.

“We beat them in an emotional game,’’ Norton said recalling the win during an interview with The Franklin News-Post 20 years later.

The squad was led by Perdoni and Horace Green, who would later coach at Franklin County High School and Ferrum.

There were other standouts too—Ivey Mays, Phil Mosser, Dan Danko, Jim Hambacher,, Kris Kahila, A.C. Burke, Wayne Stinnette and Ed Martin.

Danko, Martin and Norton have passed on. Kahila and Burke became high school wrestling coaches; Kahila built FCHS’s decorated program from the ground floor, and Stinnette once served as an assistant high school football coach.

Norton was presented a ring honoring the seven players following his final game as the Panthers coach at 1993. One of those players was Kahila’s roommate.

Green was named the Most Valuable Offensive Player of the 1968 national title game.

“We played a great Phoenix team that had beaten the California (junior college) champions by two touchdowns,’’ Norton said. “They had always talked about California junior college football and how it was the best. Well, Phoenix beat the best in California and we beat Phoenix, 41-19, in the national championship game.

“I think that (victory) dispelled the myth that California junior college football was better than anywhere else. I think that proved the we could play in the East and so were are very proud of that,’’ Norton said.

“We (the 1968 team) wanted to be the best that we could possibly be and we tried to prove that in every game,’’ Danko said when the team celebrated its 20th reunion in 1988.

“As every game progressed, we got better and better and we peaked in Savannah, Ga. (site of the title contest) when we played Phoenix. And that’s the key,’’ Danko said.

Two years later, the crash occurred.

“The ones who were killed in the plane crash were all good athletes. They (the 1968 team) were a close-knit group. It was like all of your buddies being killed. It was a horrible thing,’’ Norton said.

Green had moved on to Western Carolina University in 1970.

“It’s something that never leaves your mind,’’ Green said when recalling the tragedy following his hiring at FCHS. “It’s spooky.

“I was at (Western Carolina) with (Ferrum teammate) John Mahoney who was already there. He came into my room and told me. My first thought was, ‘ No this can’t be true,’ but I later found out it was true.’’

I don’t think anyone has ever felt comfortable with it because if you look at it, you can say to your self that it could have been one of us,’’ Green said.

“We don’t look at (the plane crash) as a tragedy; we look at it as an inspiration to all of us,’’ Danko said. “We are happy that we ever knew those guys. They have definitely played a big role in our lives because they have brought us (the 1968 team) together and made us closer. It has made this team a very, very special team.’’



1971 Jim Hottle

1972 Jim Grobe

1973 Richard Greene

1974 Mike Antonopoulos

1975 Gary Wells

1976 Johny Douglas

1977 Ed Lewis

1978 Billy Jarvis

1979 Bernie West

1980 Rob Stanley

1981 Leno Illardo

1982 Frank Rossi

1983 Ricky Cruze

1984 Randy Harper

1985 Mark McGlothlin

1986 Mark Fedrovitch

1987 Nathan Scott

1988 Greg Thurman

1989 Paul Scott White

1990 Kevin Sherman

1991 John Sheets, Cecil Phillips

1992 Kirt Studevant

1993 Ray Brown

1994 Ray Brawley, Chris Glascock

1995 David Waddell

1996 Kevin Slough

1997 Derrick Hollins

1998 J.C. Harmon

1999 James Puryear, Charles Spangler

2000 Randy Anderson

2001 Greg Middleton

2002 Matt Stinson

2003 Chris Ward

2004 George Masten

2005 Dustin Hamoy, Alvin Jones

2006 Jermaine Pitts

2007 Shaun Green

2008 Nic King

2009 Matt Dobson

2010 John Branch

2011 Steven Harris

2012 Scott Puschell, Kenny Tapscott

2013 Wes Franklin

2014 Anthony Orton

2015 Thomas Betts

2016 Anthony Konieczka

2017 Alveno Matthews

2018 Lawrence Baranski III

2019 Jordan Patti


Coach Rick Tolley

Thomas W. Brown

David D. Griffith

Patrick J. Norrell

James R. Patterson

Arthur K. Shannon

Jerry D. Stainback Jr.

Thomas J. Zborill

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Franklin County’s cheer squad is conducting its annual youth camp this week at the high school’s Roy M. Law Gymnasium. The two-day camp ended …

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.